This One’s Called, ‘I Don’t Feel Like Blaming My Bad Mood on the Weather Anymore’

In what world is it 49 degrees F in the middle of May? (This one. The sky is overcast, it rained earlier, and things have generally been Garbage.)

It’s incredibly easy for me to make excuses not to be active or do anything when it’s nasty out. Look at the winter. Look at my unwillingness to move before it’s at least 60 degrees outside. (I slow in cooler temperatures, like molecules.)

I woke up feeling pretty miserable and hopping on Facebook made it worse (doesn’t it always?). This was a continuation of how I felt yesterday: sluggish and sad. I spent about five hours in the dark with a candle lit doing nothing but staring at my phone because I didn’t know what else there was for me to do. I won’t get into why, just that it’s personal, and that eventually it will pass, but the truth is, I don’t feel like wallowing. I did so, for most of this morning, while I brushed my teeth and took a trip to Rite Aid and then came home and took my multivitamin and some allergy medication, and then it was worse when I went to my favorite local restaurant to grab lunch because: why wouldn’t it be?

And then I remembered what my dad used to suggest doing whenever I got into a bad mood: we used to go for bike rides. He told me that sometimes, when he was having trouble sleeping, he’d make sure that he spent the entire next day doing something that would leave him too tired to bother worrying about everything before going to bed. It’s not a bad theory, and I know that for me, personally, being active¬†does help, no matter how often being sad and miserable makes me not want to do anything. Physical activity has been shown to help with anxiety and depression for some people. ¬†So I made a plan for myself–what I need to do over the next few weeks, work and school-wise, and I figured, I might as well do what I’ve been meaning to for a while and sign up for a gym membership.

We’ll see what happens. It’s supposed to get up to 90 on Thursday.

Author: jillboger

Part time writer. Editor-in-Chief for the Bridge volume 13, former EIC for The Odyssey at BSU. My glasses protect my secret identity.

Leave a Reply

