The Semester is Finally Over

So, in case anyone has any doubts left in their minds, working even part time (so like, around 20 hours a week, if not more–frequently, more) while being a full time student is incredibly taxing.

I knew this before I started the semester and I still did it and yesterday was really the last day of it for me: I dropped off my final notes that were due, I helped fill out forms to send the journal off for awards, etc. I still have to write an abstract for a conference and send it off, but that’s something that has nothing to do with grades and is more to do with professional development and growth that way. When I got home yesterday, I crashed on the couch for a solid three hours. And then I went to bed early, and I woke up early, and I’m still exhausted.

But it’s over.

There are other things that have happened–you’ll know if you watch the news–that have really been affecting my own world view and what I think I need to be doing, and I’m trying to make the argument to myself that if I’m involved, if I make myself do things, I won’t have the time to be miserable and unhappy. It doesn’t work that way, but I’m still going to try it.

I’m going to have a chapbook for sale by the end of the month. There will be a total of twenty poems with probably a few end notes. There are three categories of poems. The size is a folded 8.5×11″ booklet printed in black & white. The front cover will almost definitely be pink. (I can’t help myself.) Physical copies will be $2 each, and the digital copies will be probably $1. Once I figure out the best way for me to distribute them without using a third-party, there will be a post about it.

Another update: I’ll get back on a regular posting schedule. People should tell me if there are specific titles they want to see reviewed, discussions made, etc.

Author: jillboger

Part time writer. Editor-in-Chief for the Bridge volume 13, former EIC for The Odyssey at BSU. My glasses protect my secret identity.

Leave a Reply

