‘Oh reaching out for something / Touching nothing’s all I ever do’

“Ballroom Blitz” always strikes me as being such a strange song because I can never reconcile the tender moments with the actual “blitz.” It’s not enough that I wish they were two separate songs, but it’s still something that sticks out and bugs me when I listen to it. (Also, once, my old iPod Nano skipped on the first thirty seconds of the song and every time I hear it I get anxious that it’ll happen again.)

On deck for a review is “Mexico,” a collection of short stories by Josh Barkan. I haven’t started it yet. Hopefully I’ll have time to read it this coming week, and then get a review written, but I also have an annotated bibliography to graft together, so we’ll see. (There also aren’t any books currently up for review on Blogging for Books that I’m terribly eager to get my hands on, so that’s been affecting my willingness to get this review done with.) It’s also interesting–this time last year, this blog was pretty much made for book reviews (which later went to movie reviews, and others), but it’s been a little more than a month since I’ve reviewed…anything. (Here is where I ask that if you’d like to see anything reviewed, you tell me so I can go on reviewing things that people want to know about!)

It’s preemptive of me to do so, all things considered, but I am making a reading plan for the summer. My work has a pretty good lending program for its employees with hardcover books (which is honestly my least favorite format to have a book in), so I want to try to read at least a book a week. I can see it happening, but hopefully I don’t let other things get in my way before I make good on it. This is really to help me actually know what I’m recommending to customers more than it is for me to write reviews, though I’ll try to keep a running tally of what I’ve read. Personally, I want to write 1-2 sentence summaries and give them a 1-5 star rating for myself, but then if anyone wants me to elaborate and make an actual review, I think that would be a good idea. This is still nebulous and is reliant on whether or not people who read this blog want me to do that.

In any case, stay tuned for more musings on songs that play over the radio during my commute home.

Author: jillboger

Part time writer. Editor-in-Chief for the Bridge volume 13, former EIC for The Odyssey at BSU. My glasses protect my secret identity.

Leave a Reply

