‘Give Yourself a SEE-Level Vacation’

News: I moved.

I had been doing really well with making semi-regular posts even if I wasn’t saying anything particularly interesting, and then I moved and neither had internet or free time for a good week. I have one of those things now, and while I’m leeching on Xfinitywifi until we can figure out what’s the problem with our new router (spoiler: it’s Xfinity, and that’s the issue), It’s still better than using all of my data.

I was able to unpack a lot of things that I’ve had in a box since at least this past June, if not the summer of 2015, so as I type this update, I’m looking at an old aid for trains. I also realized that yes, there are more things that I can get rid of, and no, I suppose I could have probably stood to keep a few of the books I got rid of, after all. I’ll make up for it though.

More news: I’m going to grad school starting in January.

It’s been a while since I’ve been a fully active participant in academia and I’m excited to get back (a few months isn’t THAT long, but it’s been too long for me).

Because of life things, NaNoWriMo goals are not going to be met. I’ve accepted this.

I have a commission I’ve been working on, but I’m not sure how great it’s going to be when it’s finished (I’ve taken far too long on something that’s relatively short). Kindle still sends me a few cents every few months, which isn’t great, but I guess it’s better than nothing (if two pennies counts as better than nothing).

Lately I’ve been having some nebulous thoughts re: Thoreau’s repulsion towards the body–that is, his need to not have anything to do with his own and the focus more on the natural world as something that is apart from him–versus Whitman’s celebration of it, and the juxtaposition between these two American Romantic ideals and how they compare and what we as readers can get from it, but there’s been nothing concrete and I haven’t actually bothered to pull quotes and sources apart from the ones that I already know from the top of my head.

My upstairs neighbors have heavy feet, and the floors squeak, but at least I’m no longer living in a closet.

Hopefully I’ll get more consistent.

 

Author: jillboger

Part time writer. Editor-in-Chief for the Bridge volume 13, former EIC for The Odyssey at BSU. My glasses protect my secret identity.

Leave a Reply

