Job Searching

I’m in the process of trying to find a full-time job for the Fall, which is about as fun as you’d think it would be.

There are a few places that I’m definitely interested in and a few more that I’m interested in if I have to be. When it comes to high school English, pickings are slim, and admittedly, if I shucked out the extra money to get the middle school license too, I’d have a better chance of being hired since there are more middle school positions than high school, but there’s a reason why I did so many observation hours at middle schools, and I think at this point I know (or have a much stronger understanding of) what I want.

It doesn’t help that I was spoiled by getting to teach 11th and 12th graders during my student teaching; that solidified me on my desire to teach high school, and I have a feeling that, if at all possible, I’m going to eventually want to teach AP classes, too.

In any case, I’m looking for a job (while subbing and looking for a temp position to make at least some kind of savings during June), and I have a few complaints about the whole job-application process. It’s something that I kind of ran into while looking for a place in retail three years ago, but it’s much more frustrating now.

Here’s the deal: If I’m applying for a position teaching, I’m probably pretty serious about wanting to be a teacher, and the professional goals I have are probably going to involve me wanting to be even better, and to want to see students succeed. I have been training to be a teacher for three out of the four years I was in college.

300 words is probably not going to be enough to explain both why I want to work at a school system AND my philosophy on education (this is about 330 words right now). I’m still going to do it, because I do want the job and because I need to do it, but it’s still incredibly difficult. Cover letters might be the first impression an employer gets of you (and their first chance to see your ability to write, which is important if you’re teaching English), but they’re still frustrating.

Another thing that I’m noticing is that these applications are incredibly redundant. I have a resume that I’ve been told to tailor and make look a specific way and tell a potential employer certain things about me. I have it. I made it. I update it regularly. And all of the information on it includes things that are asked prior to a section to specifically upload my resume on all of these job applications, Schoolspring or otherwise.

Back in April, I went to a job fair hoping that it would help–and in some ways, it did. Not everyone in Massachusetts is required by their education program (or was required) to become SEI Endorsed, which I didn’t know and apparently should have included on all of my resumes. I have that. Unfortunately, the majority of those jobs were for elementary schools or middle schools–and I don’t want to teach either of those age groups. As far as networking goes, I’m not sure how much of a benefit I got.

In the mean time, I guess I’ll keep subbing.

Author: jillboger

Part time writer. Editor-in-Chief for the Bridge volume 13, former EIC for The Odyssey at BSU. My glasses protect my secret identity.

Leave a Reply

