Playing Catch-Up and Planning for the Summer

Long time, no update. Life has been extremely busy over the past two weeks.

Last week I was in Boston twice; once for a career-fair and getting lunch with one my friends, and the other time for a literature conference. I presented some research I did on Castle of Otranto and Night of the Living Dead, and apparently I did a good enough job that the head of my department congratulated me on doing a good job.

This week, we launched volume 13 of The Bridge, that fine arts journal I’ve been leading as editor-in-chief this year. It was fun—the link is live (and I’ll probably provide it in my next article round-up), and we’ll have physical copies of it next week. It took a lot of time to make it and we missed the deadline but the journal is better for it, and I’m thrilled. Additionally, I had a meeting with my editors preparing the next editor-in-chief for my branch of The Odyssey, an honors ceremony where I was presented with a scholarship (I missed the first one on Monday because of the Festival of the Arts), and the commencement fair where I picked up my cap and gown and tickets. I’m also almost done with my huge assessment stuff for student teaching (second to last week right now), and I managed to get laundry done.

Whew.

As summer comes up (and I realize I need to prepare for whichever teaching job I might hopefully have come September), I want to spend at least some of my vacation doing something I enjoy and haven’t been able to do a whole lot of lately, which is reading. Maybe I’ll actually meet my reading goal like I haven’t met my writing goal for the month (sorry, Camp NaNo. Better luck next year). Here’s the list of things I want to read (or in some cases reread). It’ll probably grow. I’ll try to update my progress on the books and provide a blog post about my feelings on them.

  1. Slaughterhouse Five
  2. Brave New World
  3. All Quiet on the Western Front
  4. Outlander
  5. The Goldfinch
  6. The Odyssey
  7. The Joy Luck Club
  8. Macbeth
  9. Don Quixote
  10. Pride and Prejudice
  11. Jane Eyre
  12. As I Lay Dying
  13. A Farewell to Arms
  14. Adventures of Augie March
  15. In Cold Blood
  16. Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas
  17. Guns, Germs, and Steel
  18. The Handmaid’s Tale
  19. The Road
  20. The Tale of Genji
  21. The Stranger
  22. Catch-22
  23. One Hundred Years of Solitude
  24. Nausea
  25. Frankenstein
  26. Ulysses
  27. Scoop
  28. Wuthering Heights
  29. Welcome to Night Vale
  30. Mysteries of Pittsburgh
  31. Birds of a Lesser Paradise

If you have any suggestions, I’ll take them—the more I can read (and the more recent fiction, at that), the better. Generally speaking, I like mysteries and I like horror, but if it’s a quick read, I’ll power through almost anything.

Author: jillboger

Part time writer. Editor-in-Chief for the Bridge volume 13, former EIC for The Odyssey at BSU. My glasses protect my secret identity.

Leave a Reply

