Writing Sprints

I’m thinking about participating in Camp NaNoWriMo, because I started it last year and I’ve tried the 50k writing sprint for November several times now, and I’d like to say I’ve done it before I graduate. This might be the last time in my life that I have the time to write 50k words in a month: I even have an April Vacation this time (although, let’s be honest, I’ll probably be busy during it as I was during “spring break”).

The problem is that writing fiction is hard, and blank pages are intimidating. There are at least two or three stories I currently have “In-Progress” (one of which is a commission, so I do actually have to finish that sooner rather than later) that I’d like to see finished before the end of the month—but I don’t like writing long pieces. It’s not something I enjoy doing because I hate trying to fill up space, and I prefer the brevity of short stories.

I have a couple of options then if I want to do this and make the word count goal: For one thing, I could just lower my own goal and make it something like 40k words, which would be around 10k a week. I could try to write one long work, keep writing until my fingers fall off and I hate the thing I’m working on. Or, I could just add up everything I’ve been writing anyway.

I’m averaging about 3 articles a week now, not including blog posts, and I’ve started doing book reviews. I can knock off one-shots really quick, especially if I’m holding off on all my editing until May, so there’s that. If I keep getting commissioned (fingers crossed), I’ll have an actual monetary incentive to write.

Maybe there’s a word count tracker that I could put on this blog so people can hold me accountable—if it’s just me, I’m much less likely to actually do it.

There have been days where I’ve written a lot and there are some days where (despite myself) I haven’t written anything at all. I’m aiming to have more of the former, even if it’s just a bunch of smaller works. Then maybe I can edit the stories and shop them around somewhere.

In any case, I have until tomorrow to make the decision, and so far, I’m seeing myself attempting to write a lot in the future. There are real people interested in seeing some of those “Works In-Progress” finished, myself included.

As long as I keep myself on a strict writing schedule (isn’t it like a job, something you’ve got to practice regularly to get better at doing?), I think I might be able to manage. Then again, time has been flying by lately and I’m getting increasingly desperate in my attempts to slow it down.

Since I go to bed by 9:30 most nights, I wonder if I can will myself up at 5AM to get in early-morning writing.

Or, you know. Not.

Author: jillboger

Part time writer. Editor-in-Chief for the Bridge volume 13, former EIC for The Odyssey at BSU. My glasses protect my secret identity.

2 thoughts on “Writing Sprints”

Leave a Reply

