“Why Don’t I See Bees on My Bee Plant?”: a review of Frey and LeBuhn’s The Bee-Friendly Garden

As I’ve mentioned before, I’m something of a novice gardener. That said, I have decided to make an attempt to grow some plants, have gotten some seeds to do so, and began reading The Bee-Friendly Garden.

The book itself is really nice; if we’re talking about books as objects, I think this is a nice one to have around because it’s in full-color (even pages that don’t have images have the title in a goldenrod yellow right by the page number), the images themselves are really clear and attractive, and the font choices are nice and crisp. I’m a sucker for things that look nice, and this book does that. There’s a bee motif that runs throughout the book, which is a nice touch—though I’d probably have gotten rid of the little trailing Winnie-the-Pooh-esque lines indicating its flight pattern, since the bee itself is a little more like a nature sketch than a cartoon.

bee friendly garden

Full disclaimer: I really don’t like bees. They make me anxious, because I’ve been stung before and it’s scary and uncomfortable. That said, they are really important for the environment, and I think it’s probably important (and so do Frey and LeBuhn, obviously) for people to encourage bees to thrive. They’re good for pollinating your own garden so you don’t have to spend extra cash on fertilizer, and they’re good for earth’s entire ecosystem. We’re currently in something of a “bee crisis” (or so I’ve been told), and a lot of people are making it their job to help save them. So even with my fear of bees, I’m going to make the decision to plant things that will specifically attract them.

I like The Bee-Friendly Garden. Even when they use jargon-y words, it’s not difficult to understand what Frey and LeBuhn are telling you should and shouldn’t plant. There’s a section at the front of the book that explains what different kinds of bees there are (specifically so you don’t mistake some for wasps or hornets, I think).

The most effective part of the article is probably the resources they provide. While I do wish the index of what plants are most suited where was listed alphabetically by location (the plants themselves are alphabetical, but the regions of the United States are not), I think otherwise the book is laid out in a pretty logical manner.

The tone comes across as conversational and pleasant, and I look forward to using this book as a reference guide as I start gardening. Even if you don’t garden (and don’t plan to in the future), it does make a nice coffeetable book thanks to its overall attractiveness.

More information about the book can be found here.

FTC DISCLAIMER: I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.

Author: jillboger

Part time writer. Editor-in-Chief for the Bridge volume 13, former EIC for The Odyssey at BSU. My glasses protect my secret identity.

Leave a Reply

