Reading Books I Don’t Like

Let me preface this by saying I don’t usually start talking about a book (or writing about it, rather) until I’ve finished it.

That said, I started a new book on Saturday, which I haven’t touched since then for the following reasons: one, I finished two books that day anyway, and two, I haven’t had the time to keep reading (yet). Maybe I’ll be able to get it done by the end of the week. It’s around 445 pages (that’s a rough number because I don’t have the book on hand and because I don’t remember), one of those thick paperback books that touts itself as a “thriller,” whatever that’s come to mean over the past two decades.

I’m already starting to wish I picked up a Tom Clancy novel instead.

So here’s my predicament: I honestly have not been reading as many books as I should be. Part of that is because I honestly have been incredibly busy, but the other part is that I was in the middle of a few others and I wanted to try to finish them before starting another. After almost two years, I finally got through Evelyn Waugh’s Men at Arms (I don’t know why it took so long to finish it other than that I just would read some, stop, and then after a few months pick it up again). I also finished reading What I Talk About When I Talk About Running by Haruki Murakami, which I liked a lot and would be willing to read again in the future. I’m still in the process of reading The Astronauts Wives Club and The Brothers Grossbart.

The other thing is that I don’t actually have very many books with me in my dorm, which is a stark contrast from last semester, where I had to buy another bookcase.

Anyway, I went to a secondhand store on Saturday because I’ve been feeling miserable and buying books usually helps me feel better. I left with Shutter Island (which I’m probably not going to read until after the semester is over, if I’m being honest) and The Rule of Four.

I’m reading The Rule of Four, and let me explain why I got it. Some people compare it to The DaVinci Code, which I actually have not read, but one of the blurbs on the inside drew a comparison between it and The Secret History, which is something I enjoy much more now that I’ve finished it than I did back when I was reading it, if that makes sense. So I went in thinking, oh, this is going to involve a lot of the things about The Secret History which I really liked! I was enthusiastic. I usually am whenever I start a new book.

Embarrassingly enough, I’ve only made it through I think five books this semester. As someone who used to read a book a day, this is kind of upsetting, even though I have perfectly good reason not to have been reading novels (I’m an editor, and I’m a teacher, so I’m almost always reading something). So I decided, well, I might as well start this book and enjoy it.

But I don’t really think the comparison to The Secret History is fair, though, because Donna Tartt’s characters and prose are interesting and for the most part, enjoyable.

I just wanted to get through another book and now I feel like I’m going to have to worry about these two dudes who are obsessed with this one thing of Renaissance literature which, even as someone who enjoys Renaissance literature, I do not care about. I’ll finish it eventually (I don’t like not finishing books), but God, what a waste. Thankfully it was only 80 cents.

Author: jillboger

Part time writer. Editor-in-Chief for the Bridge volume 13, former EIC for The Odyssey at BSU. My glasses protect my secret identity.

Leave a Reply

